We welcome our five new English assistants

 

auxiliares

(From left to right: Sam, Samantha, Carly, Yuliana, Katie)

Another year is off to a great start at IES Gabriel García Márquez! We have a new group of auxiliares de conversación (English language assistants) helping out in English, music, science, geography, physics, history, technology and PE classes:

SAM – New York City, United States

Hey yáll!  I hail from New York City, where I was born and raised for the first 17 years of my life.   After that, I moved all the way to the West Coast, Los Angeles to be specific, where I went to Occidental College.  At ¨Oxy,¨ I played basketball, worked for the Los Angeles Mayor, and majored in International Relations, largely due to my thirst to see the world and better understand cultures once unbeknownst to me before.  I have been lucky enough to work with penguins in South Africa, work at the Olympics in Rio de Janeiro, and teach English in Thailand.  Now, let’s add teaching English in Spain to the list!  I look forward to bringing a taste of the US into the classroom, and welcome the opportunity to learn about Spain from you all as well!

SAMANTHA – Virginia, United States

I´m from a small town called Warrenton in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains in Virginia. I stayed in Virginia for college and studied International Studies with minors in Spanish and History at Virginia Tech. I studied abroad in Quito, Ecuador which is where my love for travelling and for Spanish really took off! After living and working in Washington DC I decided it was time to reconnect with my passion for adventure and move to Madrid. I love working with students and in the past have led outdoor education trips on the Appalachian Trail. I am tremendously excited to share my experiences in the classroom as well as learn about Spain from my students and fellow teachers!

CARLY – Calgary, Canada

I am from Calgary, Alberta Canada which is close to the Rocky Mountains and is always freezing cold. The cold doesn’t stop me from enjoying the outdoors. I do many winter sports such as skating, hockey, skiing and snowboarding. I also love to do yoga and have been practicing for 7 years. Originally I am from Montreal, Canada where many people speak French so I can also speak a bit of French. I have a Bachelor of Commerce degree in Human Resources and have worked 8 years in the banking industry. Last year I travelled abroad to live in Ireland and now I have the travel bug! I´m hoping to make Madrid my new home and learn Spanish!

YULIANAOhio, United States

Hello! I am happy to be back for my second year at IES Gabriel García Márquez! For those of you who don’t know me from last year, I am 25 years old and have lived most of my life in Ohio, USA. I am originally from Tashkent, Uzbekistan so at home we speak Russian. Because of that, I have always been interested in cultures and the world around me so that’s what brought me to Spain! Before coming here, I studied International Relations at the University of Cincinnati and got my Master of International Education at Universidad de Alcalá de Henares. This is my third year in Madrid, and it is my favorite city!  I look forward to teaching you English this year!

KATIE – Delaware, United States

I am 23 years old and am from Wilmington, Delaware. I attended Shippensburg University of Pennsylvania, and graduated in 2015 with a Bachelors in Psychology and a minor in Disability Studies. I have two older brothers that are both nurses and also live in Delaware, along with both of my parents that are Nurse Anesthetists. This is my first time leaving the United States, and decided that I wanted by first experience in another country to be assistant teaching in Madrid because I have heard amazing things about Spain, and enjoy working with children. I hope to continue traveling in the future, but for now I love living in Spain.

Leave a Reply

